An MA DTCE graduate on Instructional Design

image of SteveSteve Roberts, one of our distance learning students shares his story…

Completing the MA DTCE from a distance provided a fantastic opportunity to directly apply what I was learning to my own context, and develop my own theory of teaching and learning which resonates with my past and present experience.
I had the chance to work as an instructional designer in the University of Hong Kong, where I developed MOOCs, worked closely with faculty to do exciting things like flip classrooms and develop multimedia to support T&L.
I’ve recently started working at Stanford’s Graduate School of Business, where I have been collaborating closely with faculty members, media teams and other key stakeholders to design and innovate.

Instructional Design is one of those areas which is approached from many different angles, so you’ll likely work in diverse teams with multiple perspectives – don’t underestimate the importance of growing your soft skills alongside your technical ones to thrive!

Leave a Reply

