Home > Uncategorized > Laura Underwood talks about Visualisations

Laura Underwood talks about Visualisations

lauraI work in eLearning and use information visualisations to make learning material more engaging for students. Research demonstrates that content like data visualisations, animated explainer videos, infographics and interactive webpages can capture students’ interest and help them to learn complex information more quickly. Visualisations can also reduce the information overload that students may feel when they are presented with dense sections of text.

On the MA DTCE, I decided to do a project-based dissertation. The first part of my dissertation was to develop a website to curate the visualisations I had been finding online. I also built a few visualisations of my own. For each visualisation on the website, I listed the subject and learning outcomes (wherever possible, these are from the British curriculum) that the asset aligned with. I also developed some lesson plans to show how visualisations can be incorporated into teaching practice.

The goal of the website is to make it easier for teachers who want to use content like this in their own lessons. They can use the search function on the website to find a visualisation that matches the lesson topic they are working on. Following the development of the website, I wrote my dissertation about the research I had conducted.

There are currently around 1200 visualisations on the website. I enjoyed the process so much that I continue to add to it and use the assets in my own work. On the website’s blog, I post about the field of visualisation, commenting on new assets as I find them. You can view the website at www.visualistics.co.uk.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

