Home > Uncategorized > United Medicine Appoints Annalisa Manca -Director of Medical Education

United Medicine Appoints Annalisa Manca -Director of Medical Education

annalisaAfter graduating from the MA DCTCE in September 2007 I worked with Drew and Marilena as a Teaching Assistant and Student Mentor. I assisted in the administration of e-learning material and led online and face-to-face learning and teaching sessions. I also supported students in the design of e-learning resources and I acted as a facilitator in online discussions amongst the students. I was then offered a position as an Educational Technologist at The University of Dundee Medical School, where I worked from October 2008 until now and where my passion for Medical Education developed.

At the Medical School I work within the Technology and Innovation in Learning Team (TILT), with responsibility for development, delivery and ongoing support of learning, teaching and assessment activities within the Medical School. Because of my background in Pedagogy I provide subject matter expertise on pedagogic theory and training in good educational practice, design of online learning activities, along with support for online education initiatives across the Health Science programmes, both undergraduate and postgraduate.
My role involves leading on innovation practice, development, management and quality assurance of our online learning projects, with a strong emphasis on learner-centred design. I am a Communities of Practice facilitator and contribute to institutional faculty development programs: I teach and supervise students during Student Selected Components (SSCs), 4th year projects and dissertations for the Honours Degree of Bachelor of Medical Science (BMSc) intercalated courses, and contribute to the Educational Technology module teaching for the Centre for Medical Education Masters in Medical Education.
I undertake scholarship and pedagogical research, regularly sharing findings and best practices at conferences such as the Association for Medical Education in Europe (AMEE) international meeting, through workshops and presentations.

In October 2014 I started an International Project called “The Networked Doctor”. My role in this project is to develop a pedagogic strategy to enable non-English speakers doctors to feel confident in networking in English, through social media, with the wider medical education community. I therefore manage the educational design and delivery of a series of seminars and workshops on a various range of subjects involving the use of social media for research, CPD and professional networking for healthcare professionals.

In January I will be moving to Belfast to start a three-years PhD in Medical Education. My wish to study for a PhD dates back to the research experience I gained whilst completing the Masters of Education at the University of Manchester. My research interest was further kindled by the educational research and scholarship, which has been part of my current position as an educational technologist at the University of Dundee Medical School (https://dundee.academia.edu/AnnalisaManca). In the long-term, I aim to become an experienced medical education academic researcher and combine teaching and research work in the field of the medical humanities.

For now though I’m in Sardinia (Italy) enjoying my family and friends and charging my batteries before starting the new chapter in my life 🙂 . I’m really grateful to Drew for being always very supportive during the years that led me to this important step.

For further information, see https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/united-medicine-appoints-director-medical-education-matt-wilson?trk=hp-feed-article-title-share

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 24, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    Well done Annalisa! I’m in the medical education field now too, so give me a shout if you think I can help with any of your research.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

