MA DTCE student has article published in the TES

profile-uni

Eleanor Kirby, our own MA DTCE 2016-17 student has published an article titled ‘Got a mini Donald Trump in your class? Here’s what to do’ in the Times Educational Supplement.

Congratulations Eleanor on your published article and thank you for sharing your story.

‘It was a big step at the age of 36 to resign a teaching job which I loved and spend most of my savings on the DTCE Masters course – but I’m so glad I did!

My reason for doing this course was to help enhance learning in developing countries. After working with the Institute of Physics in Rwanda, I was keen to develop a Massive Open Online Course(MOOC) which was accessible and free for everyone.

The DTCE course has opened my eyes to new ways of learning in communites which can build on my ideas. I have really embraced lots of extra courses and activities at the University of Manchester.

The optional modules have given me the opportunity to study Educational Leadership, Intercultural Exchange, and Gender and Development. There is also support in the library or research and writing assignments which has come in useful!

I have even found confidence and even time to wrtie an article for the Times Educational Supplement (TES) https://www.tes.com/news/school-news/breaking-views/got-a-mini-donald-trump-your-class-heres-what-do .

Looking forward to the future, I hope that some of the skills I have learned this year will enable me to find a fulfilling career using technology in education.’

Eleanor Kirby

One comment

  1. A massive congratulations to Eleanor, and the entire MA DTCE Alumni as well as the staff of the porgramme, I am very much proud to be part of the community. congrats one more

Leave a Reply

